Legislation

In accordance with the Constitution, the Republic of Belarus is governed by the rule of law. The state, all its public authorities and officials act within the limits of the Constitution and the legislative acts adopted in accordance with it.

The legislative system consists of regulatory legal acts:

  • Constitution of the Republic of Belarus;
  • Decisions of national referendums;
  • Laws, decrees, and ordinances of the President of the Republic of Belarus;
  • Government resolutions;
  • Resolutions of the Parliament, regulatory legal acts of the Supreme Court of the Republic of Belarus, the General Prosecutor's Office, enacting authorities subordinate (accountable) to the President of the Republic of Belarus;
  • Regulatory legal acts of ministries and other national state administration authorities;
  • Decisions of local referendums, decisions of local councils of deputies, executive and administrative bodies;
  • Regulatory legal acts of other enacting authorities (officials);
  • Technical regulatory legal acts.

The Constitution of the Republic of Belarus is the Fundamental Law of the Republic of Belarus, which has supreme legal force and establishes the fundamental principles and norms of legal regulation of the most important public relations.

The Parliament passes laws – regulatory legal acts that establish the principles and norms of legal regulation of the most important public relations.

A law can be adopted in the form of a code, which is a system-forming regulatory legal act that sets forth the principles and norms of legal regulation of the most important public relations and provides the most complete legal regulation of a certain sphere of public relations.

The President issues ordinances, decrees, and executive orders on the basis of and in accordance with the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus.

In order to systematically address political, social, and economic issues of highest priority, the President may issue policy directives.

Laws, ordinances, and decrees of the President of the Republic of Belarus are legislative acts and have greater legal force in relation to other regulatory legal acts.

The government, ministries, and other national state administration authorities, local councils of deputies, executive, and administrative bodies adopt regulatory legal acts within their scope of reference on the basis of and (or) in compliance with the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus, other legislative acts, or for the purpose of implementing international treaties and other international legal acts.

The system of legislation of the Republic of Belarus is built in accordance with the Unified Legal Classifier of the Republic of Belarus.

This Classifier is designed for harmonization of the acts adopted in the country, and their classification within certain branches and areas of legal regulation. For example, in accordance with the Classifier, the Act No. 204-3 "On public service in the Republic of Belarus" of 14 June 2003 belongs to the category 01.19.01.01, which refers to the section "Constitutional Legislation", subsection "Fundamentals of Public Administration", paragraph "Public Service", and article "General Provisions of Legislation on Public Service". The systematization and codification of legislation are carried out on the basis of the Classifier.

Full size

All acts that constitute the legislation of the Republic of Belarus are included in the National Register of Legal Acts of the Republic of Belarus.

Full size

Every year, the body of Belarusian legislation is updated with more than 10,500 legal acts. A total of 222,899 legal acts were included in the Register as of 1 January 2020.

Full size

Each type of legal acts has its own section in the Register. For example, ordinances, decrees, and executive orders of the President of the Republic of Belarus are included in Section 1, and decisions of local authorities can be found in Section 9.

Full size

The National Center for Legal Information of the Republic of Belarus is responsible for compilation of the Unified Legal Classifier of the Republic of Belarus and the National Register of Legal Acts of the Republic of Belarus. These resources have been maintained since 1999.

Regulatory activity is a state-administered activity involving planning, implementation of regulatory initiatives, preparation, expert analysis, adoption (publishing), official publication, amendment, official interpretation, suspension, resumption, extension and termination of regulatory legal acts.

Regulatory activity includes a number of successive stages, which are collectively called the regulatory process. One type of regulatory process is the law-making process.

Regulatory process in the Republic of Belarus begins when the draft law is submitted to the House of Representatives of the National Assembly.

In accordance with the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus, the right of legislative initiative belongs to:

Any draft law, unless otherwise is stipulated by the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus, is first scrutinized by the House of Representatives, then by the Council of the Republic.

A draft law, with exception to the cases provided for by the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus, becomes a law after adoption by the House of Representatives and approval by the Council of the Republic by a majority vote of the full membership of each chamber.

A law passed by the House of Representatives and approved by the Council of the Republic is submitted to the President for signature within ten days. Before a law is signed it is forwarded to the Constitutional Court for mandatory preliminary examination of its constitutional nature.

The House of Representatives and the Council of the Republic may delegate the legislative authority to issue ordinances having the force of a law to the President upon his proposal if a corresponding law is passed by the majority of the full membership of each chamber. This law should determine the subject of regulation and the term of the President's authority to issue ordinances.

The President of the Republic of Belarus:

  • signs laws;
  • has the right to return a law or its specific provisions with his objections to the House of Representatives in accordance with the procedure established by the Constitution;
  • has the right to repeal acts of the Government;
  • monitors compliance with the legislation by local government and self-governing bodies directly or through the authorities he established;
  • has the right to suspend decisions of local councils of deputies and cancel decisions of local executive and administrative bodies in case of non-compliance with the legislation.
The President coordinates regulatory activities personally and through the state bodies authorized by him within their scope of reference.
  • The President approves annual plans for the preparation of draft laws.
  • The National Center for Legislation and Legal Research provides methodological guidance for regulatory activities, including those related to the application of  regulatory techniques.
  • The Ministry of Justice ensures the coordination of regulatory activity in the Government (in the system of national state administration authorities subordinate to the Government).

In accordance with the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus, regulatory acts of state authorities are subject to publication and distribution. At the same time, acts affecting the rights, freedoms and duties of individuals and legal entities enter into force only after their official publication.

The official publication of legal acts is the presentation of these legal acts to the public via the placement of the texts in full compliance with the signed originals on the National Legal Internet Portal of the Republic of Belarus.

Законодательство Беларуси

В соответствии с Конституцией в Республике Беларусь установлен принцип верховенства права. Государство, все его органы и должностные лица действуют в пределах Конституции и принятых в соответствии с ней актов законодательства.

Систему актов законодательства составляют нормативные правовые акты:

  • Конституция Республики Беларусь;
  • решения республиканского референдума;
  • законы, декреты и указы Президента Республики Беларусь;
  • постановления Правительства;
  • постановления палат Парламента, нормативные правовые акты Верховного Суда Республики Беларусь, Генеральной прокуратуры, нормотворческих органов, подчиненных (подотчетных) Президенту Республики Беларусь;
  • нормативные правовые акты министерств, иных республиканских органов государственного управления;
  • решения местных референдумов, решения местных Советов депутатов, исполнительных и распорядительных органов;
  • нормативные правовые акты иных нормотворческих органов (должностных лиц);
  • технические нормативные правовые акты.

Конституция Республики Беларусь - Основной Закон Республики Беларусь, имеющий высшую юридическую силу и закрепляющий основополагающие принципы и нормы правового регулирования важнейших общественных отношений.

Парламент принимает законы - нормативные правовые акты, закрепляющие принципы и нормы правового регулирования наиболее важных общественных отношений.

Закон может приниматься в виде кодекса, который является системообразующим нормативным правовым актом, закрепляющим принципы и нормы правового регулирования наиболее важных общественных отношений и обеспечивающим наиболее полное правовое регулирование определенной сферы общественных отношений.

Президент на основе и в соответствии с Конституцией Республики Беларусь издает декреты, указы и распоряжения.

В целях системного решения вопросов, имеющих приоритетное политическое, социальное и экономическое значение, Президент может издавать указы программного характера - директивы.

Законы, декреты и указы Президента Республики Беларусь являются законодательными актами и имеют большую юридическую силу по отношению к иным нормативным правовым актам.

Правительство, министерства и иные республиканские органы государственного управления, местные Советы депутатов, исполнительные и распорядительные органы принимают в пределах компетенции нормативные правовые акты на основе и (или) во исполнение Конституции Республики Беларусь, иного законодательного акта или в целях реализации международных договоров и иных международно-правовых актов.

Система законодательства Республики Беларусь выстраивается в соответствии с Единым правовым классификатором Республики Беларусь.

Этот Классификатор предназначен для упорядочения принимаемых в стране актов, их отнесения к определенным отраслям и сферам правового регулирования. Так, например, Закон от 14 июня 2003 г. №204-З "О государственной службе в Республике Беларусь" в соответствии с Классификатором относится к рубрике 01.19.01.01, что означает раздел "Конституционное законодательство", подраздел "Основы государственного управления", параграф "Государственная служба" и пункт "Общие положения законодательства о государственной службе". На основании Классификатора осуществляется систематизация и кодификация законодательства.

Смотреть в полном размере

Все акты, составляющие законодательство Республики Беларусь, подлежат включению в Национальный реестр правовых актов Республики Беларусь.

Смотреть в полном размере

Ежегодно массив белорусского законодательства пополняется более чем на 10 500 правовых актов. Всего по состоянию на 1 января 2020 года в Реестр включено 222 899 правовых актов.

Смотреть в полном размере

Каждому виду правовых актов соответствует свой раздел Реестра. Например, декреты, указы и распоряжения Президента Республики Беларусь включаются в раздел 1, а решения местных органов власти - в раздел 9.

Смотреть в полном размере

Ведение Единого правового классификатора Республики Беларусь и Национального реестра правовых актов Республики Беларусь осуществляется Национальным центром правовой информации Республики Беларусь. Названные ресурсы формируются с 1999 г.

Нормотворческая деятельность - это государственно-властная деятельность по планированию, реализации нормотворческой инициативы, подготовке, проведению экспертиз, принятию (изданию), официальному опубликованию, изменению, официальному толкованию, приостановлению, возобновлению, продлению и прекращению действия нормативных правовых актов.

Нормотворческая деятельность включает ряд последовательных стадий, совокупность которых называется нормотворческим процессом. Одним из видов нормотворческого процесса является законотворческий процесс.

Законодательный процесс в Республике Беларусь начинается с момента внесения проекта закона на рассмотрение Палаты представителей Национального собрания.

Правом законодательной инициативы в соответствии с Конституцией Республики Беларусь обладают:

  • Президент,
  • депутаты Палаты представителей,
  • Совет Республики,
  • Правительство,
  • граждане, обладающие избирательным правом, в количестве не менее 50 тыс. человек.

Любой законопроект, если иное не предусмотрено Конституцией Республики Беларусь, сначала рассматривается в Палате представителей, затем в Совете Республики.

Законопроект, за исключением случаев, предусмотренных Конституцией Республики Беларусь, становится законом после принятия Палатой представителей и одобрения Советом Республики большинством голосов от полного состава каждой палаты.

Закон, принятый Палатой представителей и одобренный Советом Республики, представляется в десятидневный срок Президенту на подпись. Перед подписанием закона он направляется в Конституционный Суд для проведения обязательного предварительного контроля на предмет конституционности принятого закона.

Палата представителей и Совет Республики законом, принятым большинством голосов от полного состава палат, по предложению Президента могут делегировать ему законодательные полномочия на издание декретов, имеющих силу закона. Этот закон должен определять предмет регулирования и срок полномочий Президента на издание декретов.

Президент Республики Беларусь:

  • подписывает законы;
  • имеет право в порядке, установленном Конституцией, возвратить закон или отдельные его положения со своими возражениями в Палату представителей;
  • имеет право отменять акты Правительства;
  • непосредственно или через создаваемые им органы осуществляет контроль за соблюдением законодательства местными органами управления и самоуправления;
  • имеет право приостанавливать решения местных Советов депутатов и отменять решения местных исполнительных и распорядительных органов в случае несоответствия их законодательству.
Президент осуществляет государственную координацию нормотворческой деятельности лично и через уполномоченные им государственные органы в пределах предоставленных им полномочий.
  • Президент утверждает ежегодные планы подготовки законопроектов.
  • Методическое руководство нормотворческой деятельностью, в том числе деятельностью по применению требований нормотворческой техники, осуществляется Национальным центром законодательства и правовых исследований.
  • Скоординированность нормотворческой деятельности в Правительстве (в системе республиканских органов государственного управления, подчиненных Правительству) обеспечивает Министерство юстиции.

В соответствии с Конституцией Республики Беларусь нормативные акты государственных органов подлежат опубликованию и доведению до всеобщего сведения. При этом акты, затрагивающие права, свободы и обязанности граждан и юридических лиц, вступают в силу только после их официального опубликования.

Официальным опубликованием правовых актов является доведение этих правовых актов до всеобщего сведения путем размещения их текстов в полном соответствии с подписанными подлинниками на Национальном правовом Интернет-портале Республики Беларусь.