International Cooperation in Science and Technology

Belarus actively promotes international cooperation in science and technology with more than 50 countries. In 2016-2019, Belarus signed cooperation agreements with Algeria, Georgia, Israel, Italy, South Korea, Serbia, Slovakia, Latvia, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkey, Uzbekistan, and the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe.

The number of joint research projects under Belarus’ international agreements has increased: 112 such projects were implemented in 2019. In 2016-2019, the country launched its first joint projects with Azerbaijan, Cuba, Mongolia, Pakistan, Slovakia, and Uzbekistan.

In 2019, the Union State of Belarus and Russia started implementing seven programs. They are aimed at developing innovative technologies and equipment for production of biosafe animal feed, new technologies for surgical treatment of children with spinal diseases, innovative genome technologies for person identification, and a system of hydrometeorological safety of the Union State.

In 2018, Belarus’ State Committee on Science and Technology in association with the Russian Ministry of Education and Science drew up a regulation on the Union State Award in Science and Technology, which was approved by the Union State Council of Ministers.

In 2019, the export of science-intensive and hi-tech products accounted for 35.6% of the total export, which was 2.3 percentage points up over 2018. In monetary terms, the export of science-intensive and hi-tech products totaled $14.9 billion, up by 7% over the previous year.