Aleksandr Lukashenko presents Union State Award in Science and Technology

  • 22
  • 6:36

On 1 April Belarusian President Aleksandr Lukashenko presented the Union State Award in Science and Technology 2021 to Belarusian and Russian scientists at the Palace of Independence in Minsk.

The award was handed over to the scientists involved in the development, creation and operation of the Belarusian Space System for Earth Remote Sensing, which comprises the Belarusian satellite BKA as part of the Russian-Belarusian orbital grouping and the Earth observation satellite Kanopus-V. Among the awardees are Belarusian scientists Pyotr Vityaz, Sergei Zolotoi, Dmitry Sikorsky, as well as Russian scientists Leonid Makridenko, Rashit Salikhov and Sergei Terekhov.

The award was also presented to scientists who took part in the development and production of high-performance electromagnetic protection systems and a new generation of cosmic ray detectors for space instruments with improved performance. Among the laureates are Belarusian scientists Sergei Grabchikov, Nikolai Mukhurov and Aleksei Trukhanov, as well as Russian scientists Natalya Borodkova, Oleg Korablev, Vladimir Kotsov.