Distinguished Belarusians honored with state awards

    State awards have been conferred on 96 representatives of various professions in recognition of many-year productive work, professional excellence, a big personal contribution to the strengthening of Belarus’ defense capacity and maintenance of public order, development of the agricultural industry and road infrastructure, railway and pipeline transportation, achievements in education, science, culture, art, and sport. Belarus President Aleksandr Lukashenko has signed a corresponding decree.

    The Order for Service to the Homeland 2nd Class has been conferred on Head of the General Staff of the Armed Forces – First Deputy Defense Minister (2014-2019) Oleg Belokonev.

    Major General Gennady Kozlovsky, Commander of the Missile Troops and Artillery – Head of the Missile Troops and Artillery Division of the General Staff of the Armed Forces; Colonel of Police Dmitry Korzyuk, Head of the Traffic Police Department of Public Security Police of the Interior Ministry; and Colonel of Internal Service Andrei Metelsky, first deputy head of the special purpose firefighting and rescue squadron of the Emergencies Ministry, have been honored with the Order for Service to the Homeland 3rd Class.

    The Order of Honor has been bestowed upon Chairman of the State Control Committee Leonid Anfimov, chief coach of the Belarusian sambo team (the Olympic training center Staiki) Vyacheslav Kot, head of the plant cultivation crew of the agricultural enterprise Girki, Voronovo District, Maria Kozich.

    The same award has been conferred on Chairman of the Brest Oblast Executive Committee Anatoly Lis, chief electrical engineer of the Osipovichi signaling and communications division of the Mogilev department of Belarusian Railways Piotr Panasyuk and director of the agricultural enterprise Olekshitsy, Berestovitsa District, Valery Pavlyukevich.

    The Order of Francysk Skaryna has been bestowed upon director of the publishing house Mastatskaya Litaratura Aleksandr Badak, First Vice Rector of the Maxim Tank Belarusian State Pedagogical University Svetlana Kopteva, and member of the Belarusian Union of Artists Valery Shkarubo.

    In accordance with the decree, representatives of various professions also received medals and honorary titles.