Distinguished Belarusians honored with state awards

    Belarus President Aleksandr Lukashenko signed Decree No. 451 to present state awards to 89 people on 18 December.

    Representatives of various professions were awarded orders and medals in recognition of the many-year productive work, exemplary fulfillment of service duties, a big personal contribution to the development of the light industry, public road system, agribusiness, railway and water transport, improvement of the energy and tax systems of the republic, development of the banking sector and financing of state programs, application of new technologies in medical diagnostics and treatment, significant achievements in education, culture, art, and sport.

    The Order of Fatherland 3rd Class was conferred on director of the enterprise Brilevo Arkady Kobrusev. The Order for Service to the Homeland 3rd Class was bestowed upon commander of the 5thseparate special operations brigade of the Armed Forces Aleksei Popov. The Orders of Honor were presented to Professor of the Teaching Chair at the Belarusian State University of Physical Education Yelena Belova, chief coach of the national freestyle wrestling team at the Belarusian Olympic Training Center Staiki Alexander Medved.

    The Medals of Francysk Skaryna were conferred on teacher of the Snov secondary school Inna Vinnik, head of the labor hygiene lab at the Scientific and PracticalCenter for Hygiene Research Grigory Kosyachenko.

    The President also awarded honorary titles. The Honored Figure of Culture of Belarus title was conferred on editor-in-chief of the Vyasyolka Magazine Vladimir Lipsky. The Honored Doctor of Belarus titles were presented to head of the infectious diseases chair at the Belarusian State Medical University Igor Karpov and Head of the faculty surgery chair at the Vitebsk State Medical University Vladimir Shilenok. The Honored Worker of the Manufacturing Industry of Belarus title was bestowed upon Director of ZAO Kalinka Galina Kalitenya. The Honored Worker of the Agricultural Industry of Belarus title was presented to Director General of the NASB Farming Research Center Fyodor Privalov.

    Director of Road Construction Trust No. 5 Valery Gabets received the Honored Builder title. Director General of Grodnoenergo Vladimir Shaternik became the Honored Worker of the Energy Sector of Belarus. Chief instructor of the Belarusian Union of Disabled People Boris Bachkovsky received the Honored Worker of Physical Education and Sport title.