National Currency

National Currency

The Belarusian ruble is the official currency of the Republic of Belarus. One Belarusian ruble equals 100 Belarusian kopecks.

Since 1 July 2016, the 2009 series banknotes and coins of the following denominations have been in circulation:

  • 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 ruble banknotes;
  • 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 kopeck coins as well as 1 and 2 ruble coins.
The banknotes design reflects the motto “Belarus is my country”.

Each banknote is dedicated to one of the regions of Belarus and the city of Minsk. The obverse of the banknotes from small to large denominations depicts architectural heritage of Belarus in the historical perspective from its origins to the present day. The reverse of the banknotes  discloses the paintings depicted on the obverse and tells about historical, cultural and spiritual heritage of our country using the symbols of that era.

The banknotes have advanced and reliable protective elements that provide a high level of counterfeit protection.

On 1 July 2016, coins were issued for the first time in the modern history of Belarus.

The design of coins was inspired by one of the most popular genres of Belarusian folk art – weaving.

The Belarusian ruble celebrated its 25th anniversary on 19 October 2019.