Presidential scholarships granted to 1,634 talented students

    President of Belarus Aleksandr Lukashenko has signed an executive order to approve the resolution of the Talented Youth Special Support Fund of the President of the Republic of Belarus. The fund awarded 1,634 students, pedagogues, two scientific research associations of students.

    Presidential scholarships to the tune of Br675,000 were granted to 191 university students.

    Monetary prizes were given to winners of the 18th national contest of students’ scientific works, the 2012 national mathematics school competition, the final stage of the 2012 national school excellence competition, the 2012 contest of professional excellence.

    Awards were bestowed upon winners of the 14th Austrian Young Physicists’ Tournament, the Mathematics and Projecting International Competition, the 9th international economics, finance, management Olympiad, the international contest of students and post-graduate students of universities, the international competition Innovative Eurasia, the 6th international tournament of young mathematicians.

    Prizes to the tune of Br4 million to Br5.5 million were conferred on four winners of the 53rd International Mathematical Olympiad (Argentina), five winners of the 43rd International Physics Olympiad (Estonia), two winners of the 44th International Chemistry Olympiad (the United States), four winners of the 23rd International Biology Olympiad (Singapore), two winners of the 20th International Olympiad of Ecological Projects (Turkey), nine winners of the 46th Mendeleev International School Chemistry Olympiad (Kazakhstan), three winners of the 9th International Geography Olympiad (Germany), three winners of the 6th International Astronomy and Astrophysics Olympiad (Brazil), four winners of the 24th International Informatics Olympiad (Italy), three winners of the 19th International Student Mathematics Olympiad (Bulgaria), four winners of the international forum of young scientists Problems of Natural Resources Management (Russia), the winner of the international student contest “Multicomfort House ISOVER 2012. Revival and Development of the Industrial Region” (Slovakia), four winners of the 25th International Tournament of Young Physicists (Germany), the winner of the 21st European Union conference of young scientists (Slovakia).

    Prizes to the tune of Br2 million to Br4 million were given to 241 pedagogues, other scientists who made a special contribution to the promotion of students’ talent in the 2011/2012 academic year.

    In line with the executive order, financial support will be provided to the Kolos scientific association of students of the children’s creativity center in the village of Telekhany and the ethnographic scientific and research center of secondary school No. 1 in the village of Druzhny, Pukhovichi District.