Distinguished Belarusians honored with state awards

    On 27 May President of the Republic of Belarus Aleksandr Lukashenko signed the decree on bestowing state awards on 83 persons in recognition of their many years’ fruitful work, professional excellence, big personal contribution to the defense capacity and economic security of the country, development of the healthcare system, science and industry, railway transport, forestry and construction industries, achievements in education, culture and sport.

    The Order for Service to the Homeland 3rd Class was presented to Colonel Yuri Semashko, deputy head for educational work of the Military Academy of the Republic of Belarus.

    Policeman of the main department of interior service of the Minsk City Council Igor Ivanchik was posthumously decorated with the Order for Personal Gallantry.

    The Order of Honor was conferred on Supreme Court judges Valentina Bazhenova and Valentina Kulik, director of the Osipovichi forestry farm Nikolai Ravbel.

    Worker of the department for international social and cultural work of the Belarusian Institute of Culture Adam Maldis got the Order of Francysk Skaryna.

    A number of people received the Medal for Courage and the Medal for Excellence in Military Service.

    Many people were awarded the Medal for Labor Services. Among them are director of the national children’s education and recuperation center Zubryonok Nadezhda Onufriyeva and head of the surgery chair of the Belarusian Medical Academy of Postgraduate Education Alexander Vorobei.

    Dean of the Philology Department of the Belarusian State University Ivan Rovdo received the Medal of Francysk Skaryna.

    In line with the decree, a number of people were awarded honorary titles of the Republic of Belarus.
    Aleksandr Lukashenko has also signed a decree on decorating a number of military with the Medal for Excellence in Military Service 1st, 2nd and 3rd Class. Among those decorated with the Medal for Excellence in Military Service 1st Class are major-general Valery Gnilozub and colonel Igor Dobrovolsky.